One Day We'll All Be Dead & None Of This Will Matter

Item Information
Item#: 9780385685351
Author Koul, Scaachi
Cover Hardback
On Hand 0
On Order 0
 


**National Bestseller<
>**ANew York Times Book ReviewEditors' Choice<
>**AGlobe and MailBest Book of 2017<
>**ANational PostBest Book of 2017<
>**A CBC Best Book of 2017<
>**An Amazon Best Book of 2017<
>**APopsugarBest Book of 2017<
>**A Kobo Best Book of 2017<
>**An NPR Best Book of 2017<
>**AChatelaineBest Book of 2017<
>**ABuzzfeedBest Book of 2017<
>**ABook RiotBest Book of 2017<
>**AChicago Review of BooksBest Book of 2017<
>**APasteBest Book of 2017<
>**An Amazon Best Humour and Entertainment Book of 2017<
>**Finalist for the 2018 Kobo Emerging Writer Prize<
>**Finalist for the 2018 Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour<
>**Nominated for the 2017 Goodreads Choice Award<
><
><
>For readers of Mindy Kaling, Jenny Lawson and Roxane Gay, a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants in Canada, "a land of ice and casual racism," by the irreverent, hilarious cultural observer and incomparable rising star, Scaachi Koul.<
><
>InOne Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter, Scaachi deploys her razor-sharp humour to share her fears, outrages and mortifying experiences as an outsider growing up in Canada. Her subjects range from shaving her knuckles in grade school, to a shopping trip gone horribly awry, to dealing with internet trolls, to feeling out of place at an Indian wedding (as anIndianwoman), to parsing the trajectory of fears and anxieties that pressed upon her immigrant parents and bled down a generation. Alongside these personal stories are pointed observations about life as a woman of colour, where every aspect of her appearance is open for critique, derision or outright scorn. Where strict gender rules bind in both Western and Indian cultures, forcing her to confront questions about gender dynamics, racial tensions, ethnic stereotypes and her father's creeping mortality—all as she tries to find her feet in the world.<
>With a clear eye and biting wit, Scaachi Koul explores the absurdity of a life steeped in misery. And through these intimate, wise and laugh-out-loud funny dispatches, a portrait of a
ight new literary voice emerges.