Little

Item Information
Item#: 9780525534327
Author Carey, Edward
Cover Hardback
On Hand 0
On Order 0
 


"An amazing achievement...A compulsively readable novel, so canny and weird and surfeited with the reality of human capacity and ingenuity that I am stymied for comparison. Dickens and David Lynch? Defoe meets Margaret Atwood? Judge for yourself." --Gregory Maguire,New York Timesbestselling author ofWicked<
><
>The wry, maca
e, unforgettable tale of an ambitious orphan in Revolutionary Paris, befriended by royalty and radicals, who transforms herself into the legendary Madame Tussaud.<
><
>In 1761, a tiny, odd-looking girl named Marie is born in a village in Switzerland. After the death of her parents, she is apprenticed to an eccentric wax sculptor and whisked off to the seamy streets of Paris, where they meet a domineering widow and her quiet, pale son. Together, they convert an abandoned monkey house into an exhibition hall for wax heads, and the spectacle becomes a sensation. As word of her artistic talent spreads, Marie is called to Versailles, where she tutors a princess and saves Marie Antoinette in childbirth. But outside the palace walls, Paris is roiling: The revolutionary mob is demanding heads, and . . . at the wax museum, heads are what they do.<
><
>In the tradition of Gregory Maguire'sWickedand Erin Morgenstern'sThe Night Circus, Edward Carey'sLittleis a darkly endearing cavalcade of a novel--a story of art, class, determination, and how we hold on to what we love.