Someone You Love Is Gone

Item Information
Item#: 9780735233423
Author Basran, Gurjinder
Cover Paperback
On Hand 1
On Order 0

"A beautiful, haunting story of one family, spanning generations and continents, as they face life's inevitable losses, struggle with grief, and reach for redemption."
—Shilpi Somaya Gowda,New York Timesbestselling author ofSecret DaughterandThe Golden Son


Perfect for readers of Jhumpa Lahiri and Anne Tyler,Someone You Love Is Goneis a beautifully rendered, multi-generational story of secrets and ghosts that haunt a family and will affirm Gurjinder Basran's reputation as one of Canada's rising literary stars.

Grief is a creature of many faces as Simran discovers when her mother, the lynchpin of her family, dies. Faced with the disintegration of her marriage and her estrangement from her own daughter, she struggles to make sense of her world and how things have come to be. With her mother's death, Simran is haunted by memories and questions for which she has no answers. As the life she has carefully constructed begins to unravel around her, she is forced to confront one of her most painful memories--her parents sending her younger brother away when they were children. As the past comes flooding back, she wonders what could compel her parents to turn their backs on their only son. Even her mother, who had always been very protective of her son, agreed with her husband to send him away; a decision that would have lasting consequences. Now with her mother gone, Simran must face up to these disturbing memories, and perhaps finally put her ghosts to rest.
Someone You Love Is Goneskillfully explores the ties that bind family together as well as the secrets that drive them apart. In beautifully rendered prose, award-winning author Gurjinder Basran weaves a mesmerizing tale of love and heartbreak that crosses continents and spans generations.